About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us



Drake's Darian DeVries is the recipient of the 2019 Hugh Durham Award. The award is presented annually to the top mid-major coach in college basketball.

April 5, 2019


MINNEAPOLIS, MN -- Darian DeVries of Drake is the 2018-19 recipient of the Hugh Durham Award, presented presented annually to the top mid-major coach in Division I college basketball.

In his first season as a head coach, DeVries piloted the Bulldogs to a 24-12 mark and a share of the Missouri Valley Conference regular season championship. DeVries, 43, guided Drake to impressive nonconference victories over NCAA tournament participant New Mexico State and San Diego. Following a 1-3 start in MVC play, the Bulldogs rebounded to win 11 of their next 14 games before getting upset by Northern Iowa in the semifinals of the conference tournament.

The award is named after a who built winning programs at three different universities. In eight seasons as the head coach at Jacksonville University, Durham became the Dolphins' all-time winningest Division I coach (106 wins), making him the only coach in NCAA history to be the winningest coach (pct. or wins) at three different Division I schools.

He built national programs at Florida State where he holds the record for best winning percentage with a 230-95 (.708) record in 12 years. And at Georgia where he is also the all-time winningest coach in the 99-year history of the Bulldog program, having won 297 games in 17 seasons.

Coaches of teams in the following conferences are eligible for the award: America East, Atlantic Sun, Big Sky, Big South, Big West, Colonial, Great West, Horizon, Independents, Ivy, Metro Atlantic, Mid-American, Mid-Eastern, Missouri Valley, Northeast, Ohio Valley, Patriot, Southern, Southland, Southwestern, Summit, Sun Belt, West Coast.


John Becker, Vermont
Randy Bennett, Saint Mary's
Rick Byrd, Belmont
Bill Coen, Northeastern
Tim Cluess, Iona
Darian DeVries, Drake
Steve Forbes, ETSU
Joe Golding, Abilene Christian
Jason Hooten, Sam Houston State
Mike Huger, Bowling Green
Chris Jans, New Mexico State
Robert Jones, Norfolk State
Danny Kaspar, Texas State
Dustin Kerns, Presbyterian
Ritchie McKay, Liberty
Matt McMahon, Murray State
Joe Mihalich, Hofstra
Wes Miller, UNC Greensboro
Nate Oats, Buffalo
Chris Ogden, UT Arlington
Mark Pope, Utah Valley
Bob Richey, Furman
Byron Smith, Prairie View A&M 
Russell Turner, UC Irvine
Mike Young, Wofford

Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace All-America Team
Kay Yow Award
Mid-Major Freshmen All-America Team
Mid-Major Defensive All-America Team
Mid-Major Defensive Player of the Year
Mid-Major Freshman of the Year
National Most Valuable Player
Mid-Major Most Valuable Player
All-Conference Honors
Copyright © 2011 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.

Top 10 Individual College Basketball Seasons of the Decade


2019-20 College basketball preview: Preseason picks, ranking & Predictions


Top 8 Preseason Candidates for 2019